I’m Back

This blog had a lot more followers than I thought.  I’ve had people come up to me in church, at UMass hockey games, and at family functions asking me how the job search was going, as I wasn’t posting anymore.

Truthfully, the job search hadn’t been going.  After I didn’t get the position at North Shore Community College, I began reconsidering things.  Did I really want to teach adjunct again for a year, without health insurance, without any long term security?  I wasn’t sure.

My boss at Bay State College, Jeff Mason, called me shortly after my last post* and asked if I wanted to teach again.  I told him that I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go through it all again.  Many of my friends had full time jobs and were getting married and buying houses.  Was it worth trying to teach adjunct another year and then trying again, knowing I might be in the same boat?

Jeff told me to think about it for 24 hours and get back to him.  He also said that it was worth it, if it was really what I wanted.  He said he’d been around and he knew there were breaks, and Bay State really wanted me full time but the funding just didn’t work out.

I thought about it, and decided it was worth trying again.  I took three Basic Math classes at Bay State.  I also took an Introduction to Statistics class at Roxbury Community College.

Funny thing happened.  I quit looking for jobs, and I started getting offered jobs.  Bay State asked me to do an independent study with a student in Pre-calculus.  I did.  Roxbury asked me to be a tutor in the Math Clinic there.  I did.  Before I knew it, I had enough money saved up to move out of my parent’s house.  Once that happened, I felt a ton of pressure lifted off my shoulders.

Currently, I’m still teaching at Bay State College and Roxbury Community College.  I’m teaching one section of Basic Math, two sections of College Algebra 1 and one section of College Algebra 2 with Trigonometry at Bay State and one section of Introduction to Algebra at Roxbury Community College.  I’m still working in the tutoring room at RCC too.  Also, I’m working as a Supervisor for the Supplemental Instruction Program at RCC.  Furthermore, I’m on the Professional Development Title III (PDT3) Committee at RCC.  Blessings upon blessings.  I really like my jobs.  To the point where I decided it really wouldn’t be a big deal if I did it again next year too.  I’m able to pay my bills, I’m gaining experience, and I’m enjoying life.   That was my plan.

Then a coworker at RCC told me about four full time teaching positions at Bunker Hill Community College.  The deadline was last Friday.  I missed it.  I think I’m extremely qualified.  I bet if I had the experience in the Math Clinic and with the Supplemental Instruction Program last year, I would have gotten a full time job.  Plus, Bunker Hill is right on the orange line.  Might as well try, so I just sent them a resume and a cover letter as well as my transcripts.

As I just updated my resume, I think I’ll be looking for other full time jobs too.  If it works, great.  If not, I’ll be at RCC and Bay State next year.

I’ll be updating the other pages as time allows me.

*- I just read my last post again.  I’m a much better writer than I give myself credit for.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment